6 thoughts on “A Vegan Guide to Ingredient Lists & What to Look For

    1. I guess, we do the best we can, I like to read labels and am teaching my son to do the same! I don’t buy a lot of processed foods anyway, I make the majority of my meals from scratch! It’s better that way! Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, this is all such great advice!

    I always buy organic veggies that are on the dirty dozen list and GMO free food, but didn’t know the vegan label carried such weight.

    Being a vegan, you’ve probably heard of the vegetarian cookbook “Thug Kitchen, eat like you give a Fu#!” but if not I couldn’t recommend a cookbook higher for the combination of both healthy recipes and laugh out loud content. The book’s introduced me to so many new veggies I previously never cooked with.

    I’m not a vegetarian myself, but being a personal trainer and disciple of the “eat Clean” diet I’ve really upped the veggie intake the last few years and lowered the meat intake, (but when I do consume animal protein it’s always from local sources, non farmed sustainable fish, and purchased from the co-op,) and the first dietary recommendation I always make to clients is to greatly increase their veggie intake. The ones who actually take the advice ALWAYS have the most success!

    Keep up the GREAT work, I salute you!

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve heard of the book, very funny and awesome! I also love “Oh She Glows”, her first book, incredible recipes, you’d love it! Glad to hear you are eating “cleaner”, it definitely makes a difference to your health and recovery from training. I’m in the gym 3x week, and I feel awesome! My gains are incredible, and so is the recovery, as a vegan! And thank you, you carry on as well, more vegys, definitely and more fruit! Rice, potatoes, quinoa (has lots of protein and iron and more!) and pasta! 🙂 oh and merry christmas! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha!! No way! I also love “Oh She Glows” and purchased her online app a few months ago actually!!! Congrats on your gains in the gym (and nutrition in the kitchen), that is great!

        I’m going to have to get the book, my cousin Eja has it, (which she pulled out to my happy surprise when I was talking up the “Oh She Glows” black bean quinoa recipe one day).

        I never even cooked with quinoa until a few years ago, but now I eat it everyday, throwing a little into the morning oat mix along with a half dozen almonds, and flax, chia, or hemp hearts along with frozen fruit!

        It does make such an amazing difference with recovery, and energy levels, I can not put on weight no matter what I eat anymore from this type of magical food!

        Thank you so much, you have a very Merry Christmas too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds really good, the whole quinoa and oats and seeds and nuts! I will have to try it! I love my oats that’s for sure! yeah, same here, I don’t put on any weight even though I eat about 3000 calories a day! 🙂 But my muscles are becoming more cut which I love! Aren’t we lucky! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment